My First Elevation

Today I did my first Elevation I found it a lot easier that I thought it would be but this my be because I have got the hang of my tools now and have found my own techniques and tricks to use. This is of the same building that my floor plan and section was done from.

An elevation is a view of a building seen from one side, a flat representation of one façade. This is the most common view used to describe the external appearance of a building. Each elevation is labelled in relation to the compass direction it faces, e.g. looking toward the north you would be seeing the southern elevation of the building. Buildings are rarely a simple rectangular shape in plan, so a typical elevation may show all the parts of the building that are seen from a particular direction.

Geometrically, an elevation is a horizontal orthographic projection of a building on to a vertical plane, the vertical plane normally being parallel to one side of the building.

Architects also use the word elevation as a synonym for façade, so the north elevation is literally the north-facing wall of the building.

Leave a Reply

